Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic


Official name: Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic
Date of establishment: 9 February 1924
Capital: Nakhchivan city
Territory: 5502,75 km2
National language: The Azerbaijani language
Currency: Manat
Population (by 1000 persons): 449,1 (01.01.2017))
National structure: 99,6% Azerbaijanis
The density of population in 1 km2 (by person): 82
Village population (by one thousand persons): 316,7
City population (by one thousand persons): 132,4

It was constituted of the capital city Nakhchivan and 7 administrative regions-Sharur, Babak, Ordubad, Julfa, Kangarli, Shahbuz, Sadarak. There are 6 cities (Nakhchivan, Ordubad, Julfa, Sharur, Shahbuz and Babak), 8 settlements, 207 villages.
According to the new Constitution of the Azerbaijan Republic received by referendum in 1995 Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is the autonomous state within the Republic of Azerbaijan.
The autonomous state has its own Constitution, Supreme Majlis, Cabinet of Ministers and Supreme Court. Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic consists of 45 deputies.
According to the Constitution, the Chairman of the Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is the Supreme official of the autonomous republic. The Supreme official of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic issues decrees according to the questions included in his/her power as specified by the Constitution but decides orders about other questions. The laws of the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic are signed by the Chairman of Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic.
The national symbols of the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic are the national flag, emblem of the Azerbaijan Republic, the national anthem. of the Azerbaijan Republic.
The ruling system in the Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic is the same as the Azerbaijan Republic. The city and district administrations of the autonomous republic are headed by executive powers. The heads of the executive powers are appointed by the President of the Azerbaijan Republic upon the recommendation of the Chairman of Supreme Majlis of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic. In the session passed under the chairmanship of Heydar Aliyev, national leader, on 17 November 1990 the words “Soviet Socialist” were taken out from the official name of the autonomous republic and the name of the legislative power was changed and named the Supreme Majlis, firstly the flag of the Azerbaijan Democratic Republic (1918-1920) was received the state flag of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic.
The Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic borders Armenia (the length of the borderline is 246 km), Turkey (11 km) and Iran (204 km).
With the help of the strongest Armenia lobby in Moscow, the territory of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic was lessened to 5,3 thousand km2 because of the groundless land claim of Armenia and piece by piece the lands were annexed (1924, 1928, February 1929, May 1969) which was 6 thousand km2 during Moscow (1921, March 16) and Gars (1921, October 13) treaties signing.
Karki village of Sadarak region of Nakhchivan Autonomous Republic underwent a complete economic blockade in 1991 by the Armenia Republic who started an injustice war against Azerbaijan and was occupied by Armenians on January 19, 1990. During the war, the population of the one settlement and the 3 villages became displaced from their hearth lands.